Research Paper Abstract: The Politics of Recovery

The time is coming for me to work on my final research paper.  After much debate, I have decided that I would like to compare government aid and community-based aid.  In doing so I hope to identify any disparities between the two types of aid and theorize on why these are significant.

I will do this  by using the data we have collected to figure out what exact actions were taken by community members and by using outside sources (such as the LB gov website, the actual federal aid bill, and FEMA reports) to take a look at government response. 

As of now, I have a few hypotheses going into the actual data analysis (based off of what analysis I have already done) that I would like to share. 

1)  I believe that the government aid will have a shorter-term focus than the community aid

2)  I believe that government aid will effect less people

3)  BUT, government aid will be distributed more evenly throughout the community whereas community aid may be limited by location, connections ect

If I find my hypothesis to be true, I would like to examine the results of this difference of focus.  I believe that the differences will lead to some sort of animosity from residents towards the government.  This animosity may not only color their opinions towards the government in response to Sandy in particular, but also in regards to its general function and members. 

Finally, I will apply the results of my findings to suggest possible ways to make disaster response more effective in responding to the needs as expressed by the effected community. 

Leave a Reply

monica byrne

writer . playwright . artist . activist . traveler

ACADEME BLOG

The blog of Academe magazine

Dynamic Ecology

Multa novit vulpes

Tropics of Meta

historiography for the masses

Superstorm Research Lab

a mutual aid research collective

Conditionally Accepted

a space for scholars on the margins of academia

Afroculinaria

Exploring Culinary Traditions of Africa, African America and the African Diaspora

BINARYTHIS

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT GENDER BUT WERE TOO AFRAID TO ASK

NuVote Reach

Political Co-Dependency Intervention

